Thursday, December 20, 2012

BADGR Broken Links fixed

Hi all, I've gone through the entire blog and fixed up the broken image links. All should be working now. Not sure WTF happened, some of my photos are hosted remotely, and the URL for those pics changed. Carry on.

Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Regarding the Sandy Hook School Massacre...


I felt compelled to write something about this. As a dad with little girls who are almost at age to be in elementary school, words cannot describe the feelings of sorrow, despair, and hatred as a result of the actions of a low-life scumbag who's name shall never be mentioned.  Before I became a dad, the news wouldn't of affected me the way they do now. Even now, days after the massacre, that lump in my throat, the welling up of tears in my eyes, as I visualize my own girls in that unthinkable situation.

(AP Photo/David Goldman)
Now, as I write this, there is much public discourse about effectiveness of gun control, mental health resources. There's calls for assault weapons bans more gun control. There's calls for more money thrown at mental health. The thing is, we live in a time where crazy people exist; whether they are terrorists, homegrown extremists, or just plain crazy.

I submit that no amount of debate, legislation, or money thrown at gun control or mental health will deter the determined crazies from exacting their brand of fucked up shit on civilians. Just like nobody, can ever predict an earthquake, I really don't think anybody can predict a crazy person going into a school and murdering 20+ people. In terms of stopping it, God Bless the LEOs who's active shooter training kicked and went in without SWAT. They probably saved the lives of countless more kids and teachers. However, LEO's are not posted at every school, and response times vary from region to region.

Sure regions can post LEO's or security at every school, but this is just not financially sustainable. Nor, is it exactly an environment conducive to learning for kidlets. What can and should be done, are failure drills. Drills that are ingrained at every level, from the Principal down to the Student. Failure drills are just what they sound like. Drills that happen when there is a failure or compromise of a secure and safe environment for learning. Whether its an unknown person roaming through the halls, or unknown smell emanating from unknown source, or weird smoke coming from a westerly, these are all candidates for failure drills. And it need not be rocket science.

Much like earthquake drills teach duck and cover, failure drills for students can be the same simplicity, such as lock and hide. There are numerous ways to lock a door, with all sorts of devices on the market. Hiding behind a barrier would help. For the Principal and the teachers, it is incumbent on them to secure the windows and doors as soon as there is an alarm.

Terrifying as it is, the reality of what could happen if these types of mitigation aren't actioned, would be worse.

I've sidestepped the whole gun control debate, mainly because guns are not the problem. Crazy fucked up people are. I admit, I'm not read up on crazy fucked up people issues. All I know is that, if fucked up crazy lowlifes do unspeakable things, they deserve to burn in hell - but not before they spend some time in a room with a bunch of bad ass dads with steel toe boots and a concrete curb.

Saturday, December 8, 2012

BAD Gear: Lowa Desert Zephyr TF (Taskforce) Goretex Boots

I've been running the Lowa Desert Zephyr Goretex boots for a few years now. At least one year domestic field ops including some leave-time deer hunting, and over two year overseas in both dry and super wet monsoon season. I bought mine with 30% off from shoebuy.com at a total of $134 USD. I think this is one of the best pairs of boots I have ever worn. Lowa is world renowned for hiking and mountaineering shoes and they don't disappoint.

I've worn various combat boots in my military career, and various combinations of hiking and combat boots in my contracting/consulting postings. Of all the shoes I've tried (Asolos, Danners, Merrels, Garmonts, Columbias), these Lowas are my favourite. There is no break-in period at all. Just run and gun. These boots are no different than the civilian version of the Lowa Zephyrs one can buy from REI. They are meant to be hiking style, more than a combat boot style. The only differences are the monotone colours, and the goretex lining.  One of the things that attracted me to this boot, is that I can still be incognito at the park walking the dog, or walking the kids, or being walked by the kids. Its a great multi-purpose boot. 
The lightweight multi-function boot is made with PU Monowrap technology for surefooted stability. Designed to breathe in hot, dry climates, it features split leather and Cordura uppers and quick-drying Goretex lining. The cushioning and fit inside is fantastic. The first thing I noticed was that if fit like a pair of high-tops (Hipster translation: kicks).
It features Lowa's cross sole unit with 3/4 length shank for stability. For the goretex lining, Lowa uses a proprietary lasted method for a smooth and seamless waterproof lining which reduces hot spots, promotes a better fit and fewer blisters. Feet stay dry and comfortably warm even in extremely cold and wet conditions. This I know first hand from waiting in my hide during the freezing and wet deer hunts in October. I liked that it kept my feet dry (granted I also have a great sock system), and the bottom soles had lots of grip in the kind of terrain. 

videoThe kind of weather my boots shined in can be seen in this video (monsoon season in Africa). It rains like this from March to July, then again from September to about November. Then its Dry season. This boot truly covers it all. The moisture-wicking lining enabled me to not only stay dry during this wet season, but also maintained moisture-wicking ability during the dry season. 

video
This other video shows during hunting season, walking through flooded fields. Instead of uncomfortable galoshes that don't take my custom orthotics well, nor keeps me warm, nor offer support on rocky terrain, I use these boots. As you can see I don't worry about getting wet. The only thing I do need to be concerned with is the depth of these fields. I oped to buy the mid-length boots, but there  is the full length combat-length. I don't need that anymore, as I don't blouse my trousers. As long as water does not ingress from over the top of the boot, you're golden.

One of the things I don't like about this boot, is that it is super super slippery on ice and snow. Its not meant for that. Nor is it meant for wet polished concrete. Try running in a parking garage with these boots on after a rain storm. Wear a helmet. It also is slippery on algae covered rocks. Or shit covered pavement, as is often the case in the places I work.

But for fieldwork, mountainous areas, hunting, mounted ops, dismounted patrols, hiking, standing around looking badass, picking up hotties, drinking scotch, smoking cigars, drinking scotch, looking like a goon in the airport, drinking scotch, doing push-ups  shooting people in the face, training to shoot people in the face, photo ops, looking for a Christmas tree to cut down for your BAKs, drinking scotch...this boot can do it all. When I said push-ups  I meant push-ups  Part of my PT drills is to do push-ups in full battle rattle. Part of my shooting drills is to also include push-ups and other forms of PT to simulate physical/mental stress. These boots have just the right amount of stiffness and malleability so the toes don't buckle during these exercises.

In terms of colour, it will pass parade inspection, sergeant major, uniform police as it is that desert colour. Here you can see the boot with my Arc'teryx LEAF combat jacket in Croc colour. The croc is a blend between Olive drab and desert, so if you wanted to do a linear regression analyses between the two, the boot would be closer to the desert colour.

A few other features I would like to point out: the speed laces. I don't have to tug on each section to tighten my boots (like your standard combat boots), I just need to yank on the top laces and everything else just tightens. I have seen some of my mates' boots where the top eyelets have gotten bunged up. Lowa replaced them easy peasy. But I've personally had no issues with them.

Another feature I would like to point out is that it's light, weighing in at 1.327lbs per boot. Now, that is quite light given the style and kind of boot, and it's intended purpose. Now, for sizing, its true to size. Size it like a sneaker. In fact, if you have the chance to visit a good hiking store, try before you buy.

In Asics I'm a 10, in Saucanys I'm in 10.5, in Asolo I'm a 9.5. In general I'm a 9.5 so I got a 9.5, and it fit. Mind you, I do have to put in custom orthotics. It is narrower, so if you have wide feet you may want to size up as I don't think they come in W. Also, if you intend to wear a sock system you may want to think about sizing up to accommodate the extra width.

I am now a Lowa evangelist, that is, anybody who asks me about hiking or mountaineering boots, I always direct them to try Lowa's first. That's not to say that Asolo isn't good, or Garmonts aren't good, or whatever, its just that at the price point, the fact that it is EU-made (DING DING DING DING), and with the Lowa Guarantee, there's no reason to look anywhere else first. Usually at the $140 price point, one is still hovering around the amateur market(stuff you can buy at Sportchek or Sportmart) and not considered a serious work boot. But this, this my bad ass friends, is a serious work boot. Granted it doesn't have a full length steel shank for shit kicking, but it can definitely kick down doors. I like Lowa so much that I bought my parents each a pair. BAF still likes her Garmonts as they are super stiff and provide support for her flat feet. But one day, one day, I will convert her. Isn't Christmas just around the corner?

Thursday, December 6, 2012

BAF Gear: The Butcher's Knife

So I don't know why, but people just looooove to have a tool for every single task. Peel an orange - oh wait there's an orange peeler for that, de-skin an apple - oh wait there's a paring knife for that, chopping green onions - let me get that santoku knife, let's carve that turkey - wait out for the carving knife, over.

You folks need to KEEP IT SIMPLE! I admit, I have 15 billion knives in the kitchen drawer and wood block; however, my most used knife is the venerable Butcher's knife. I believe wholeheartedly that every household, badass or hipster or everything in between, should have at least one butcher's knife. This one knife can very easily replace the entire knife block, plus almost alot of the kitchen utensils.

I use it to smash garlic, chop veggies, run after triad gang members, dice onions, balance ping pong balls, point at rude chinese lady and swear in loud cantonese, julienne ginger, brunoise jalapenos, alumnet carrots, slice through beautifully bbq'd pork, and of course chop through bone. So don't give me bullshit about needing a knife for every task. Hell I even use my knife to practice my tactical escape and evasion plan.

The Butcher's Knife is constructed differently that most other kitchen knives. It is made of a softer steel and thicker blade thus it keeps it straight edge and is resilient in that it can pretty much chop through thick meat, cartilage and even bone - repeatedly. It is, in fact, the only knife designed to be swung like a hammer. It doesn't need to be necessarily ultra shop like a paring knife, since it relies on momentum and "AIIIYAAA!!!" to get the job done. However, one can totally finesse it with artful grace - as you can see with the BBQ pork. Yeah I made that Char Siu from scratch. And Yes, I do wear Old Navy boxers for $5 each. yes I do cook in my boxers.

Three areas where it shines is firstly, the obvious ability to chop shit up, the second use is as a crusher. It can crush or smash garlic BLAM like that saving you the peeling process, thus creating efficiencies and streamlining workflows in your cooking workstream. And finally, you can use it as a spatula to scoop up your chopped up veggies and throw it into the wok, and if in my case, forgot to take out the cheese 30 minutes prior to consumption, you can take a heated butcher's knife to accomplish the task in a few short minutes.

In terms of care and maintenance, meh, I just wash it normally. I don't do much to sharpen it other than to run it across the bottom of a porcelain bowl, or knife stone. Once a year I take all my edged implements to house of knives to get sharpened, but that's about it. Keep it clean so that rust don't form. If you wanted to be all asian gang-like, you can get some hockey tape and wrap the handle for extra grippy. If you wanted to get tactical, you an always use skateboard tape.


I don't have a recommendation on a brand name of knife. The Chinese Butcher's knife that I use most often, I have had for over 15 years - the manufacturer is all but imperceptibly etched into the blade. Its a single piece construction and the blade is hard and is easily sharpened with the bottom of a porcelain bowl (chinese styles!!!). I've had one or two other butcher's knifes from name brand makers, but they never passed the "chop through bone" test. If your knife can easily chop up a bbq duck then you've got a good knife. However, if your knife's edge starts getting chips and cracks and shit from the bones being too hard for it, then somebody gave you a shitty knife for your wedding. In terms of cost, well, I have seen knives run from 10 to 50 bucks, I'd recommend getting something middle of the road. Perhaps walk by a chinese butcher shop and see what their using. I picked mine up in some kitchen supply store in Chinatown. Just follow the old ladies.

I challenge you to start using your butcher's knife more often, and forego your expensive Henckel 12 piece set for a month. Do it.

Thursday, November 29, 2012

BAD Gear: Talon Knife

I haven't done a post on knives before - mainly because I'm not a knife aficionado nor have I mastered the ultra super elite saber reverse grip slash combative technique. Just, give me a shank and I can probably shiv someone real good - and hurt myself in the process.

I do have a couple of knives kicking around, all are folders (if you don't count the machete brought back from Costa Rica). I have a couple of Spydercos, a couple of Bokers, but nothing exquisitely expensive nor unique. I even have this really neat money-clip style one by Gerber, that uses a hardware store utility blade. This, in itself, is a cool piece of travelling kit because I can always dump the blade at the airport, reach my destination - hit up a hardware store, and BOOM, got myself a low-profile EDC.

I've used my knives in some form or fashion, but one of the things I found clumsy about knives, is that it takes up one hand. There are often times when you need both hands but still need the ability to cut shit. I end up putting the knife in my mouth to hold it. My risk-adverse wife, kids, cohorts, doctors, and nurses agree this is not a good way to hold sharp things.

So I went looking for a solution that would enable me to be handsfree and yet be armed. An example of this, in a tactical response situation, something goes bump in the night, you get your ultra high lumens flashlight with strobe effect, and/or your Glock with a TLR-1. But just in-case, if you needed to engage at bad-breath distance, you also grab a knife. The Talon Knife is the shizzle for this nizzle. You basically wear it like a ring that spans to fingers, your trigger finger, and your smile finger.

Their blurb on the website states:
simple, minimalist concept with great cutting power in a compact, discreet package –extremely quick to access and more retainable in a struggle or emergency situation than any other knife design.
Unique among knives and other tools, your custom fitted Talon EDC knife (everyday carry knife) can be deployed while permitting the normal use of your hand.
The Talon knife comes in a variety of different handles sizes designed to fit the unique, personal dimensions of your hand.
It is quickly accessible under stress and extremely retainable. Weighing in at just over 1 ounce, its small size and ultra-light weight ensures that you will never be without a useful cutting edge.
Because its unique design leaves both your hands free while deployed, normal activities such as carrying items, driving, climbing, pushing or pulling as well as tactical actions such as reloading, grappling or striking are all possible with your Talon in hand.
In virtually any situation, you can deploy your Talon EDC knife and continue the normal functioning of your hands.

So the ordering process through TalonKnife.com is super easy. Because the knife is customized for different hand sizes: girly hands, hipster hands, man hands, and goliath hands, one must measure the circumference for the two fingers, and select the appropriate size. Other than that it was easy. The package came within 5 business days in a yellow padded envelope. Upon opening, the box was well packaged.

Like a kid on Christmas day, I ripped open the cellophane to get at the contents. The knife comes prewrapped in de-cored para 550 cord. It is wrapped in a true Kydex sheath, and it is actually quite tight. There's no movement when holstered. It comes with an instruction manual on the proper care and maintenance of the knife and sheath. Underneath the foam placeholder is a goodie bag carrying cloth type deal that contained some accessories, mainly carrying options. All depend on using the sheathing to holster the knife.

It comes with a beaded necklace type deal, zapstraps, clip, and some extra 550 cord to customize the sizing. For now I'm opting to holster the knife around a belt loop, securing it with the clip a la the picture on their website.

I'm totally digging how this fixed blade looks and feels. I feel like a muthaf*ckin ninja.

The Talon knife is crafted from 1.4116 steel (X45CrMoV15) and Rockwell Hardened to 59-60RC facilitating the sharpness staying sharp. The black titanium coating is a tactical coating for non-reflectivity while protecting it from corrosion.

This knife is my new EDC, along with my trusty Gerber. But I see this fulfill a more tactical and defensive role, than my box cutter. At 60 bucks, you have to ask yourself, WHY THE HELL NOT. My next diving trip, I'll be rocking this on my bat belt. Of course it will also be my bad breath fighting tool. Looking at the overall shape and design, it looks as though the designer intended it to also be able to break windows with the back knob, I can only assume that the next iteration might contain half serrations, or even a seatbelt cutter.

Friday, October 26, 2012

BAM Gear: B.O.B. Revolution Duallie Weather Shield

Ok, so for people who use their BOB's night and day, rain or shine, this piece of kit is for you. Yes it is $77, and yes it is a facetious over-priced piece of fitted tent material and clear plastic vinyl, but...it beats me spending my time surfing the internet looking for cheaper alternatives that might fit, and that might provide the weather protection required for my wimpy bad ass kids. When BAM and BAD are out in the inclement and extreme weather conditions and are required, by law, to drag the kids out with them and not leave them at home to fend for themselves with the dog, this weather shield provides ample protection on rainy and windy outings.

It is made with polyurethane-coated nylon (think tent weather fly) with the clear plastic viewing window made of thermoplastic polyurethane. There is reflective tape sewn into the upper corners where the vents are co-located. The install (if you can even call it that) is simple - it fits using a combination of elastic and velcro - think triangular bedsheet.

The nylon also has a DWR finish that allows the water to bead off. Note that the material is non-breathable, so open those vents in the rear, so your kids don't die of suffocation. Because of this property, the weather shield actually creates a micro climate within the interior of the BOB, so if you have two heavy breathers who are also very warm kids, they will quickly make a nice and cozy atmosphere.

I also like this canopy because it mutes out the sounds of my complaining and crying kids. Hey, its not my fault they don't heed my warnings about it being 0 degrees Celsius outside and still prefer to wear their princess skirt. The acoustics in there is probably pretty good, I can only imagine what surround sound crying sounds like for the adjacent kid.

Like all nylon materials exposed to the weather, they need to be treated once a season with either a silicone-based spray or something similar to retain that DWR. Its that DWR that enables the water droplets to bead and just glide off - if you run fast enough, that shit'll just hit you, so wear gore-tex.

My recommendation is that, IF, and that is a big IF...you are a hardcore outdoors person rain or shine, or just want to look the part, go ahead and get this piece, you will not be disappointed. If you can't afford the one or two hour's wage to get this piece of kit, a $0.25 lawn bag works just as well. It just looks a little more ghetto.






Monday, September 24, 2012

BAF Gear: MEC Cragosaurus Pack

I would consider the crag to be a 3-day pack, even though it is technically a 36L day pack -  it has enough room to sufficiently sustain one person for 3 days worth of activities - if packed accordingly. It has more space than my Eagle IIIa pack. What I like about this bag is that it's cheap, it holds tons of shit, and its full of features one would normally find on higher end packs. Backed with MEC's gaurantee, I can always return this pack if not fully satisfied with its form and function. This pack has seen places from Asia to Nevada and Arizona, to Washington and most recently as a one-day 4 person family pack to Vancouver...lol. BAM was able to pack 6 night/7 day trip into Nevada/Arizona with this pack, and she humped it too.

Normally this pack is meant for 3 day missions, but most recently with the addition of little ones, its become a sort of family pack for overnight trips. So, when its inconvenient to lug around a carry-on suitcase, we tote this pack. We opted for the "female" size, mainly because a smaller pack can always be adjusted to fit a larger body, whereas a larger sized pack is not ergonomically efficient for a smaller body. Plus, at the time, I already had my 3 day pack, and BAM needed something similar.

This pack is very civilian-friendly and doesn't scream TACTICAL. It's also not uber bright as to attract unwanted attention - with its subdued colours, and nondescript look, it passes as an everyday run-of-the-mill pack. And best of all, its carry-on compatible. Which means that landing into LAS, we don't have to wait at the carousel with the rest of the stagettes and bachelor party folks who drunk on cheap airplane booze and already dry humping each other. Instead, we just grab our bags from the overhead compartment, bing bang boom to the nearest coach and get going to red rock canyon.

It's got some features that makes it a great pack for us. Besides the main compartment being 30L and side-zip accesible, there is an integrated outer pouch that is also both top and side-zip accessible - this is great for storing windjackets and goretex. All the zippers are fully seam-taped for weatherproofing. Although the interior is lined with pvc, if you are really considering to be in a flash flood, use a bivy bag liner. There's snap buckles everywhere to cinch up that extra space from top down and side to side enabling greater compression. There's the obligatory ice pick loop as well. To close the bag, there are two drawstring rip cords at different heights, to allow for further expansion. The removable and ultra configurable top pocket enables this.

This frameless pack holds its shape with the use of an ergonomically correct plastic support frame with aluminum cross construction bars. This plastic sheet can be removed. The padded foam is vented for air flow, and as you can see, it is shaped like a V, most likely to conform to a female antomy, or cause it looks badass. I'm really digging the padded hip belt. I can hang shit off it, I assume it could be strong enough as a drag handle.

Another thing it has going for it is the padded shoulder straps. I don't know what kind of shoulder strap setup this is called, but I like that its adjustable for both myself and BAM. It sure beats the Eagle IIIa style of setup, that just sucks balls. One thing I'd like to know and would maybe want to test, is whether that drag handle at the top is load bearing - integrated into the frame of the pack or not.  There is an underpocket hidden in the top pocket, perfect for wallets and shit.

By no means is this a trekking pack - and it doesn't pretend to be. It obviously doesn't have the capacity or the durability of a $335 pack. But for sub $100 for a pack that can get you from point A to point B and offer some living out of capabilities, why the hell not.
One thing I do not like is the sternum strap may right higher. But it sits right on the perfect booby spot on the BAM.

We've had this pack since 2007, and it still functions like a new pack. They can be bought at mec.ca

Thursday, August 16, 2012

BAD Gear: Arc'teryx LEAF Alpha Jacket


Undoubtedly Arc'teryx is one of the world's best textile manufacturers in the outdoor recreation sector. What most people do not know is that Arc'teryx also has a line of textiles exclusively for the Law Enforcement / Armed Forces community - which they dubbed 'LEAF'.

In recent armed conflict history, equipment-wise, there has been a lot of crossover between sporting equipment and military equipment. For example, I now run Lowa Zephyr goretex boots, which are based on a running sneaker style. Likewise the textiles used in the LEAF community are shifting towards lighter performance-based fabrics with better range of movement, packability, and durability - all gleaned from research based in the outdoor recreation sector as well as from direct input of military users. Gone are the days of heavy canvas and cotton jackets and pvc rain jackets.

One such kit is the LEAF Alpha jacket. It retails for around $750CAD at select retailers; however, with a vetted application, the price drops dramatically - which is how I came upon mine. You may be screaming WTF, and pulling your hair with gnashing of teeth at the price point; however, one must remember that the civilian equivalents can run you about that price. This is pro-grade, meaning, the warranty service is there, and the durability is there as well. Military Morons has an awesome review on the features already, so I won't get too much into detail about the features. I will point out a few select features that make it THE jacket for what I do.

The Alpha is a 2-climate hardshell- meaning it was built for temperate and arctic conditions. Due to the nature of Goretex (in fact, all gore-like material), waterproofness and moisture wicking properties don't work in tropical conditions. In desert conditions, you'd be crazy to be wearing triply ply gore material. The majority of the work locales I'm in are exactly within the temperate and arctic belts and corresponding seasonal conditions, so this is the ideal hardshell for me.

Because of its 3-ply gore-tex material it is very breathable, light, and waterproof while providing protection against  harsh, intense climates, prolonged exposure to weather and abrasion from gear and landscapes. The shell features laminated taping around the seams, articulated and anatomical cut with consideration for gear. I've worn this shell with armour on top and underneath, both ways work depending on the weather. The stowaway hood is meant to be compatible with helmets, the sleeves are gusseted and articulated to provide full ROM, the underarms have zippers for venting.

Other features include sleeve pockets, laminated chest access pockets, velcro for attaching IFF or patch, and one-handed cinch cords to bring everything in. The jacket collar stows the hood when not in use, and it provides some protection from chafing around the neck when wearing armour for prolonged periods.

It comes in two colours: crocodile, and black. There's not much to say about black - it's black. The crocodile colour is one of those in-between colours, I'd say its between coyote brown and olive drab. Looking at the pictures above, you can see that my 5.11 Taclite trousers are in desert/khaki/coyote, and the jacket is in croc, and my toque and liner fleece is in army green.

Looking at this image, the colour variation is not that great. Hanging beside the Alpha, is the Combat and Bravo - along with the issued fleece. The backpack above is the Eagle IIIa 3-day pack, and you see the Cadpat ARID pack. It is a very adaptable colour.

This jacket has seen use in Africa, Arctic, West Coast, Alaska, Arizona, Asia, Middle East. In certain regions and elevations, this shell is the ideal use. For higher elevations where wind, sleet, snow, rain is encountered, this shell does its job. Since its a shell, I wear a combination of layers (LEAF Combat, LEAF Bravo, Issued fleece, poly pro undergarments, merino wool - whatever it takes to stay warm when not on the move. However when mobile, the jacket is very easy to stow as it is very packable.

For the use itself, I find the construction very durable, there are no exposed seams, all are taped to provide water ingress protection. Obviously though, if its raining hardcore and rain works its way down the collar, its game over, at least it drys quick. From the pictures above, you can see that the cut allows access to the kit mounted off my belt. Its shorter up front, and longer in the back ( like a mullet), which is ideal for accessing shit.

So some things it doesn't do well with - it does not wick away moisture if the humidity and temperature is warmer outside than the microclimate created by the jacket. Warm moisture is wicked away to colder atmosphere - therefore jungle trekking won't work, not the daytime desert conditions. You are better served with a windjacket like the Arc'teryx Squamish or Wraith. It also doesn't work when the jacket becomes excessively dirty with oil and dirt - mainly from travelling around shitty places. One thing that I do do, is to use gore-tex wash and DWR restorers after every season or deployment to maintain the waterproofness, breathability, and DWR.

Disclaimer

Full Disclosure: Unless noted, Bad Ass Dad has not been compensated in any means to review this gear. It is all his own, procured through pro-channels, retail, or issuance.